Edmonton Votes 2017

CBC Edmonton is live for the 2017 municipal election in the city and surrounding areas. Follow along for updates from our reporters.

    Other mayoral candidates in surrounding areas (unofficial):


    *represents new elect
    Calgary - Naheed Nenshi
    St. Albert - Cathy Heron*
    Beaumont - John Stewart*
    Leduc - Bob Young*

    Sherwood Park/Strathcona County - Rod Frank*
    Spruce Grove - Stuart Houston 
    Stony Plain - William Choy 

    Fort Saskatchewan - Gale Katchur 
    Fort McMurray - Don Scott*
    Red Deer - Tara Veer
    Parkland County - Rod Shiagec
    Sturgeon County - Alanna Hnatiw* (ahead by 300 votes)

    Leduc County - Waiting for mayoral acclimation 
    Morinville - Barry Turn*
    Devon - Ray Ralph*
    Wetaskiwin - Tyler Gandam*

    Edmonton results for mayor, wards (projected):

    *represents new councillor
    Mayor - Don Iveson
    Ward 1 - Andrew Knack
    Ward 2 - Bev Esslinger
    Ward 3 - Jon Dziadyk*
    Ward 4 - Aaron Paquette*
    Ward 5 - Sarah Hamilton*
    Ward 6 - Scott McKeen
    Ward 7 - Tony Caterina
    Ward 8 - Ben Henderson
    Ward 9 - Tim Cartmell*
    Ward 10 - Michael Walters
    Ward 11 - Mike Nickel
    Ward 12 - Moe Banga

    Other mayoral races we will be monitoring:

    Calgary - Calgary's mayoral race is hotly contested. We'll be keeping a close eye on this race.
    St. Albert - It's an open race! With Nolan Crouse stepping aside, three candidates are vying for the spot.
    Beaumont - After 16 years, Beaumont mayor Camille Berube is stepping aside. Six candidates are running for mayor here.
    Leduc - Three candidates are hoping to be Leduc's next mayor, as Greg Krischke, the city's former mayor, is outgoing.

    Sherwood Park/Strathcona County - Five candidates here, including Roxanne Carr, who is running for re-election.
    Spruce Grove - Stuart Houston is seeking his fourth term as mayor. Only one competitor - Daniel Doornekamp - stands in his way.
    Stony Plain - William Choy has served 1½ terms as mayor in Stony Plain. One challenger, a councillor for three terms (Robert Twerdoclib) is against him.

    Fort Saskatchewan - Gale Katchur is seeking re-election, with two others looking to unseat her.
    Red Deer - Tara Veer is seeking re-election here, and is facing against Sean Burke, a recovered crystal meth addict and a digital advertising provider.
    Parkland County - Rod Shiagec is seeking re-election here. Facing off against two other candidates.
    Sturgeon County - Current mayor, Tom Flynn, is facing off against Alanna Hnatiw in a one-on-one showdown.

    Leduc County - This one's a bit different. There are seven divisions, six are up for grabs (one has been acclaimed). Then, a mayor is appointed. John Whaley, who was mayor prior, is not seeking re-election.
    Morinville -  Lisa Holmes left as mayor, and only one person, Barry Turn, threw his name into the hat. He's been acclaimed as mayor.
    Devon - Stephen Lindop is seeking re-election here. He's facing off against four candidates.

    Here's what we have going on tonight:

    • Gareth Hampshire (@cbcgareth) is looking at the mayoral race tonight.
    • Andrea Huncar (@andreahuncar) is monitoring Wards 1, 5, 6, and 8 tonight.
    • Kim Trynacity (@Ledgewatcher) is overseeing Wards 2, 3, 4 and 7 tonight.
    • Min Dhariwal (@MinDhariwal) is at Wards 9, 10, 11 and 12 tonight.
    In Fort McMurray:
    • David Thurton (@CBCDavid) will be working the Fort McMurray mayoral race (and council spots, too).
    • Mark Connolly (@markconnollycbc) is hosting CBC Edmonton's live election coverage at the Garneau Theatre! You can catch some of it live on Facebook at around 8:30 p.m. Tickets are still available (and they're free. Very free. There's also free popcorn and free live music. And Garrette McGowan).
    Everyone mentioned will periodically pop by and give you a bit of an idea of what's going on where they are. 
Powered by ScribbleLive Content Marketing Software Platform
302 Found


The document has moved here.